Text Size

Founders Award 2017

The SCOLT Board of Directors presents the Founders Award when deemed appropriate to a member who has made significant contributions to SCOLT over the years and who exemplifies the spirit and ideals of the founders of the organization.

 Ken Stewart

I am extremely honored to receive the 2017 Founders Award because it comes from my friends, colleagues and SCOLT family. I am humbled to have worked with so many dedicated and talented language professionals; thank you for your support and for sharing your expertise over the years. I am a better teacher because of you. When I reflect on all of my professional experiences in language education, I fondly recall serving on the SCOLT Board of Directors as Awards Chair. Being named SCOLT Teacher of the Year in 2005 and representing you at ACTFL as the National Language Teacher of the Year was, without a doubt, the pinnacle of my career. Again, I owe you thanks and gratitude. My hope for the future of SCOLT and the profession is that all language educators in our region will join our family and benefit from the amazing work that is being done by teachers for teachers. A famous Italian film director and screenwriter said: "A different language is a different vision of lift." Thank you, SCOLT, for giving me that vision and thank you for this honor." - Ken Stewart

Previous awardees:

2017 Ken Stewart

2016 Ruta Couet
2015 Marty Abbott
2014 Norah Jones
2013 Lynne McClendon
2012 C. Maurice Cherry
2011 Carol Wilkerson
2010 Anne Fountain
2009 Greg Duncan and Sharon Rapp
2008 Carolyn Hansen
2007 David Alley
2006 Helene Zimmer-Loew
2005 Billie O. Edmonds
2004 Robert Terry and Paula Heusinkveld
2003 T. Bruce Fryer
2002 —
2001 Frank W. Medley Jr.
2000 Lee Bradley
1999 —
1998 —
1997 Herman F. Bostick
1996 —
1995 Joanna Crane
1994 Elizabeth Epting
1993 —